Egba-Yewa Descendants Association Washington, DC. U.S.A.
Lori Oke Ati Petele

more | enlarge
Osile of Oke-Ona
more | enlarge
Agura of Gbagura

more | enlarge
Olubara of Ibara

Abeokuta town, capital of Ogun state, southwestern Nigeria. It is situated on the east bank of the Ogun River, around a group of rocky outcroppings that rise above the surrounding wooded savanna. It lies on the main railway (1899) from Lagos, 48 miles (78 km) south, and on the older trunk road from Lagos to Ibadan; it also has road connections to Ilaro, Shagamu, Iseyin, and Kétou (Benin).

Abeokuta ("refuge among rocks") was founded in about 1830 by Sodeke (Shodeke), a hunter and leader of the Egba refugees who fled from the disintegrating Oyo empire. The town was also settled by missionaries (in the 1840s) and by Sierra Leone Creoles, who later became prominent as missionaries and as businessmen. Abeokuta's success as the capital of the Egbas and as a link in the Lagos-Ibadan oil-palm trade led to wars with Dahomey (now Benin). In the battle at Abeokuta in 1851, the Egba, aided by the missionaries and armed by the British, defeated King Gezo's Dahomeyan army (unique in the history of western Africa for its common practice of using women warriors). Another Dahomeyan attack was repulsed in 1864. Troubles in the 1860s with the British in Lagos led the Egba to close the trade routes to the coast and to expel (1867) its missionaries and European traders.

After the Yoruba civil wars (1877-93), in which Abeokuta opposed Ibadan, the Egba alake ("king") signed an alliance with the British governor, Sir Gilbert Carter, that recognized the independence of the Egba United Government (1893-1914). In 1914 the kingdom was incorporated into the newly amalgamated British Colony and Protectorate of Nigeria. The Abeokuta riots of 1918 protested both the levying of taxes and the "indirect rule" policy of Lord Frederick Lugard, the British governor-general, which made the alake, formerly primus inter pares ("first among equals"), the supreme traditional leader to the detriment of the other quarter chiefs.

Modern Abeokuta is an agricultural trade centre (rice, yams, cassava, corn [maize], palm oil and kernels, cotton, fruits, vegetables) and an exporting point for cocoa, palm produce, fruits, and kola nuts.

Abeokuta was a walled town, and relics of the old wall still exist. Notable buildings include the Ake (the residence of the alake), Centenary Hall (1930), and several churches and mosques. Secondary schools and primary teachers' colleges at Abeokuta are supplemented by the University of Agriculture (formerly the University of Lagos Abeokuta campus), which specializes in science, agriculture, and technology, and the Ogun State Polytechnic (1979; a college). Pop. (1996 est.) 427,400..

Rice and cotton were introduced by the missionaries in the 1850s, and cotton weaving and dyeing (with locally grown indigo) are now traditional crafts of the town.

Abeokuta is the headquarters for the Federal Ogun-Oshin River Basin Authority with programs to harness land and water resources for Lagos, Ogun, and Oyo states for rural development. Irrigation, food-processing, and electrification projects are included. Local industry is limited but now includes fruit-canning plants, a plastics factory, a brewery, sawmills, and an aluminum-products factory. South of the town are the Aro granite quarries, which provide building materials for much of southern Nigeria, and a huge, modern cement plant at Ewekoro (18 miles [29 km] south).

EGBA HISTORICAL FACTS     Want to know more? Click it
  Yewa (Egbado)
Ilaro town, western Ogun state, southwestern Nigeria. Located on the former trade route from the towns of the empire of Oyo to the port of Porto-Novo (now the capital of Benin), 40 miles (64 km) southwest, it was established by the late 18th century as the capital and chief trade centre of the Egbado people (a subgroup of the Yoruba). With the decline of Oyo in the early 19th century, the Egbado kingdom was raided for slaves by the Dahomeyans until it was absorbed in the 1840s and '50s by the more powerful Egba kingdom at Abeokuta (29 miles [47 km] northeast). As a subject town, Ilaro served the Egba as a trading post on the western route from Lagos to Ibadan. In the 1860s European missionaries arrived and established the Yoruba Anglican Mission in Ilaro. Following the 1890 delineation of colonial boundaries by the French and the British, the Egbado, who felt oppressed by Egba rule, asked for British protection and control of their territory. A British military garrison was built in Ilaro in the same year.

Modern Ilaro is a collecting point for cocoa, palm oil and kernels, kola nuts, vegetables (especially rice and okra), and fruits grown in the surrounding area. Yams, cassava, and corn (maize) are also cultivated by the town's farmers. Cotton weaving and dyeing (with locally grown indigo) are traditional industries. There are deposits of limestone (used by a cement plant at Ewekoro, 13 miles [21 km] east-northeast) and phosphate in the vicinity.

Ilaro is the site of a federal polytechnic college. It is located at the end of a spur on the Lagos-Nguru railway and lies at a junction of local roads. Pop. (1992 est.) 42,410.

more | enlarge
Olu of Ilaro

Council Members

1. His Royal Majesty
Oba Adedotun Aremu Gbadebo
The Alalake of Egbaland

2. His Royal Majesty
(Dr) Adedapo Adewale Tejuoso
The Oshile of Oke-Ona Egba

3. His Royal Majesty
Oba Halidu Laloko Sobekun
The Agura of Gbagura

4. His Royal Majesty
Oba Olusanya Adegboyega Dosunmu
The Olowu of Owu

5. His Royal Majesty
Oba Moshood A. Oyede
The Olota of Ota

6. His Royal Majesty
Oba (Dr) J. O. Omolade
Olubara of Ibara

7. His Royal Majesty
Oba N. A. Adekanbi
The Olofin of Isheri

8. His Royal Majesty
Oba (Apostle) M. A. A. Olabode
The Omola of Imala

9. His Royal Majesty
Oba A. O. Oyero
The Oniro of Iro

10. His Royal Majesty
Oba Michael A. Fatona
The Elewo Ilewo

11. His Royal majesty
Oba J. O. O. Tella
The Onisaga of Isaga

12. His Royal Majesty
Oba S. A. Oloyede
The Onijale of Ijale

13. His Royal Majesty
Oba S. O. Fasina
Onikooko of Kooko

14. His Royal Majesty
Oba S. A. Ojugbele
The Onilogbo of Ilogbo

15. His Royal Majesty
Oba S. A. Oladipupo
The Olu of Ifo

16. His Royal Majesty
Oba A. K. Akamo
The Olu of Itori

17. His Royal Majesty
Oba F. O. Makinde
The Olu of Igbein

18. His Royal Majesty
Oba Onitele of Itele - (Vacant

Executivess | Visitors attractions| Constitution | History | Scholarship | Archives |Notable Sons & Daughters
| News Letter | Comments.

® 2007 Design by: